

## **Annual Council**

Agenda and Reports
For consideration on

# Tuesday, 17th May 2011

In the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Chorley

At 6.30 pm





Town Hall Market Street Chorley Lancashire PR7 1DP

09 May 2011

**Dear Councillor** 

#### **ANNUAL COUNCIL - TUESDAY, 17TH MAY 2011**

You are invited to attend the Annual Meeting of the Chorley Borough Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Town Hall, Chorley on <u>Tuesday</u>, <u>17th May 2011</u> commencing at <u>6.30 pm</u> for the following purposes.

#### **AGENDA**

#### 1. Apologies for absence

#### 2. **Declarations of Any Interests**

Members are reminded of their responsibility to declare any personal interest in respect of matters contained in this agenda. If the interest arises **only** as result of your membership of another public body or one to which you have been appointed by the Council then you only need to declare it if you intend to speak.

If the personal interest is a prejudicial interest, you must withdraw from the meeting. Normally you should leave the room before the business starts to be discussed. You do, however, have the same right to speak as a member of the public and may remain in the room to enable you to exercise that right and then leave immediately. In either case you must not seek to improperly influence a decision on the matter.

### 3. <u>Minutes of the last meeting of the Council held on Tuesday, 5th April 2011.</u> (Pages 1 - 6)

To confirm as a correct record, the attached minutes of the last meeting of the Council held on 5 April 2011.

#### 4. Returning Officer's Report

The Chief Executive as the Returning Officer will report that at the Council Elections held on 5 May 2011, the following persons were duly elected as Councillors for the Wards stated:

#### Ward

Adlington and Anderton Astley and Buckshaw Chisnall Chorley East Chorley North East Chorley North West Chorley South East

#### **Councillor Elected**

June Molyneaux (Labour)
Mark Perks (Conservative)
Paul Leadbetter (Conservative)
Terry Brown (Labour)
Marion Lowe (Labour)
Pauline Phipps (Labour)
Paul Walmsley (Labour)

Chorley South West
Clayton-Le-Woods and Whittle-Le-Woods
Clayton-Le-Woods North
Clayton-Le-Woods West and Cuerden
Coppull
Eccleston and Mawdesley
Euxton South

Lostock

Steve Holgate (Labour)
Greg Morgan (Conservative)
Steve Murfitt (Labour)
Dave Rogerson (Labour)
Matthew Crow (Labour)
Kevin Joyce (Conservative)
Peter Goldsworthy (Conservative)
Doreen Dickinson (Conservative)

#### 5. Election of the Mayor for the Municipal Year 2011/2012

To formally elect the Mayor of the Borough for 2011/12. The inauguration of the Mayor, including the signing of the declaration of acceptance of office, will be undertaken at the Civic Reception on 20 May 2011.

#### 6. <u>Election of the Deputy Mayor for the Municipal Year 2011/2012</u>

To formally elect the Deputy Mayor of the Borough for 2011/12. The inauguration of the Deputy Mayor, including the signing of the declaration of acceptance of office, will be undertaken at the Civic Reception on 20 May 2011.

#### 7. Presentation and Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

- a. The retiring Mayor will be presented with a portrait, medallion and plaque bearing the Borough's Coat of Arms as a token of thanks for his year of office:
- b. Vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor;
- c. The retiring Mayor to address the Council.

#### 8. Election of an Executive Leader for 2011/2015

To an elect an Executive Leader of the Council for a four year term of office in line with the Constitutional provisions agreed at the last meeting of the Council on 5 April 2011.

### 9. <u>Appointment of the Deputy Executive Leader and Executive Member positions for 2011/2012</u>

The Executive Leader will inform the Council of the appointment of the Deputy Executive Leader and Executive Cabinet Members for 2011/2012.

#### 10. Appointments to Committees and other Council positions for 2011/2012

To approve the appointment of Members of the Council to Committees, other bodies and positions on the Council and to note Shadow appointments for 2011/2012.

A schedule of nominations will be circulated at the meeting.

### 11. <u>Standards Committee: Terms of office for Independent and Parish Council</u> Members

To reappoint the following Independent Member and Parish Members for the period 2011/2015

- Anthony Ellwood
- Parish Councillor Bill Mason
- Parish Councillor Anthony Wilson

To note that there is one parish councillor vacancy on the Committee which at this stage will not be filled, pending the outcome of Government changes to the Standards regime.

#### 12. Appointments to Outside Bodies for 2011/2012

To appoint representatives to outside bodies, including the appointment of substitute members where appropriate, for the Municipal Year 2011/2012.

A schedule of nominations will be circulated at the meeting.

#### 13. **Programme of Council Meetings for 2011/2012**

The Council is requested to confirm the following timetable of meetings of the Council to be held at the Town Hall, Chorley at 6.30pm for the Municipal Year 2011/2012:

19 July 2011 27 September 2011 15 November 2011 (Policy Council) 6 December 2011 28 February 2012 (Budget Council) 3 April 2012

#### 14. Any other item(s) the Mayor decides is/are urgent

Yours sincerely

Donna Hall CBE Chief Executive

Carol Russell
Democratic Services Manager
E-mail: carol.russell@chorley.gov.uk

Tel: (01257) 515196 Fax: (01257) 515150

#### **Distribution**

To all Members of the Council and Directors.

onna Hall.

This information can be made available to you in larger print or on audio tape, or translated into your own language. Please telephone 01257 515118 to access this service.

આ માહિતીનો અનુવાદ આપની પોતાની ભાષામાં કરી શકાય છે. આ સેવા સરળતાથી મેળવવા માટે કૃપા કરી, આ નંબર પર ફોન કરો: 01257 515822 ان معلومات کار جمد آ کی اپنی زبان میں بھی کیا جاسکتا ہے۔ پیخدمت استعال کرنے کیلئے پر او مہر بانی اس نمبر پرٹیلیفون کیجئے: 01257 515823